Thanksgiving Fast– Day 8

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him (Colossians 3:17, NIV).

Thanking God for: 

  1. My friend Kathiana, whose birthday is today
  2. My eyesight
  3. Access to basic needs
  4. Toilet paper
  5. Food
  6. Access the healthcare
  7. Being aware of my shortcomings
  8. Getting mail

Passage: “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” (Matthew 6:26, NIV).

Reason(s): I hope you can at least guess, by now, that I love birthdays and I have a lot of friends whose birthdays are in October! I thank God for my friend Kathiana! Today is her birthday! I thank God that today is a day of celebration concerning her, and that she is alive and well to see it! And I thank God that there are many more birthdays ahead of her, in Jesus’ name!

Oh, the eyes, these windows to the soul! Our eyes are important, you know. Today I had a scare because my right eye was acting weird, really weird. The doctor said my pupils were over-acting, which isn’t normal; and then she said something about the brain.. Anyway, I know that I am healed, in Jesus’ name, so praise God for that! Anyway, yeah, despite the fact that my eyeball was being weird, I can still see!

Having access to basic needs/”necessities” is something I have taken for granted, especially since living in this country. I know how hard things were while we were in Nigeria. Today, I was just reminded that a lot of people do not have access to things such as clean water, clothes, a hot shower, three meals-a-day etc.;I praise God that I do. And along the same line, I thank God for food. I ate today, and I was full and filled! Being able to buy and make my own meals… Praise God! Also, toilet paper!!!!! We all know how important toilet paper is in this country. I thought I wouldn’t have toilet paper for the next few days, but God… 🙂

And, I thank God for surprising me this morning with mail! I never expected it! It just made me so happy.

Lastly, I thank God for having me be aware of my shortcomings… I have a lot. And I thank God that He gently showed me, through His Holy Spirit, that I am not all that. So, I am not perfect, friends; that’s my secret– and I am done pretending to be. I am still a work in progress, undergoing surgery, Holy Spirit surgery.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for access to basic necessities, for my eyesight, for the little things that make my day. Thank you for reminding me that I am not perfect, but I serve a perfect God. Thank you for being gentle with me when I need it. I love you, Lord! 

Leave a Reply

