Thanksgiving Fast– Day 7

“For everything God created is good, and nothing is to be rejected if it is received with thanksgiving, because it is consecrated by the word of God and prayer” (1st Timothy 4:4-5, NIV).

Thanking God for: 

  1. Boldness and being comfortable talking about God
  2. Fall/seasons
  3. Going to work today
  4. Emotions
  5. Prayer
  6. My body
  7. Holy Spirit

Passage: “Pray in the Spirit at all time and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere” (Ephesians 6:18, NLT).

Reason(s): I will start with number 3, “going to work today”. I thank God for it because I was able to get to work, even though I was 10 minutes late. So, my shift started at 8am, but I woke up at 7:45– my morning routine was RUSHED!!! Anyway, God allowed me to get to work, and today was not bad at all, which brings me to number one. I work as a cashier at a grocery store. A customer came to my line and I liked his name (I LOVE NAMES!), and we got to talking. Then he said his parents are Christians but he is not, and I just started talking to him about God, with other people present, mind you. I am not boasting about this, but I am thanking God because, by His grace, I have come a long way! I talked normally, without being self conscious or embarrassed! Yay, God!!!!!

Moving on, I thank God for the seasons. Fall is my second favorite season, after Spring. My favorite part of Fall is the leaves changing color! It just gets me so happy because it reminds me of Genesis 1, Creation; the leaves changing color glorifies God because they tell us that a new season is upon us! Plus they just look so pretty. I love looking at nature, it gets me so emotional… which brings me to my emotions. I am HYPER emotional, and I thank God that I have them and that I am aware of them! I can say a lot more, but I’ll leave it at that.

The power of prayer and the power (and presence) of the Holy Spirit in my life… I’m just so grateful that I have full access to these! I learned about the Holy Spirit at a prayer meeting this evening and praise God for knowledge, you know. The Holy Spirit is a person, the Holy Spirit is God, the Holy Spirit is powerful! I know I need to know the Holy Spirit more, but I thank God that the Holy Spirit is in me, He prays for me, He intercedes for me. And just being able to pray, and even praying in the Spirit, is a privilege I don’t deserve.

Finally, I thank God for my body! My body journey… oohhh boy… It has been a rough one, but I thank God for my body. My body is beautiful, I am healthy, everything works… Praise God!

Prayer: Lord, I just want to say THANK YOU! THANK YOU!

Leave a Reply

