Let me Brag

“Blessed is he whose help is the God of Jacob, whose hope is in the Lord his God, the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them– the Lord, who remains faithful forever” (Psalm 146:5-6, NIV).

So, I love reading the Bible! It’s fun, exciting; sometimes I find it tedious (like the book of Numbers, for example); but at the end of the day it is still the Word of our heavenly Father! Seriously, think about it: we have access to the Word of God! In it one finds many things, i.e. instructions, advice, commandments, etc. Lately, what I have enjoyed seeing in the Word of God are the attributes/characteristics of God; they show us just a glimpse of who He is!

I have been in the book of Psalm for about two months now and it has been a wonderful experience! One of the passages I read today was Psalm 146. In a nutshell, it’s a psalm that praises who God is and what He does. The first time I read it, I didn’t really see that. But, after giving it a second read, I believe the Holy Spirit opened my eyes to see the actions (always present) that God does for His own. Verses 5-10 are too sweet! The verbs there are in the present tense, meaning that these actions of God are part of who He is; they cannot change or stop.

So, please give me a moment to hail my God:

  • He remains (v.6)
  • He upholds (v.7)
  • He gives food and sight  (vs. 7&8)
  • He sets free (v. 7)
  • He lifts up (v. 8)
  • He loves (v. 8)
  • He watches (v.9)
  • He sustains (v. 9)
  • He frustrates the plans of the wicked (v. 9)
  • He reigns (v. 10)

So, my dear friends, our God is pretty awesome! My God is pretty awesome. He is ever present, always and forever! Amen!

When in doubt, remind yourself of this. Search the scriptures and remind yourself of who your God is! Trust me, it’ll turn you around completely!

Leave a Reply

