Since I Ain’t Got a Boo…

“I will make you my wife forever, showing you righteousness and justice, unfailing love and compassion. I will be faithful to you and make you mine, and you will finally know me as the Lord” (Hosea 2:19-20, NLT).

image

This is one of my closest friends. Her name is Annuli. She loves God dearly and she is my role model. She is also my #wcw. She sent me this beautiful picture. Isn’t she so pretty?! She sent me kisses and I was thinking about beautiful she is (honestly, she is beautiful inside and out!!!!). For a moment I wondered why she isn’t with anyone. I was like, “God, seriously?!” Then the question came to my mind, “God, why don’t I have a boo?”

I am a single young woman who loves God and the things of God. I am ready to do whatever it is God wants me to. I stand on His promises– the road may be hard but I stand upon Jesus, my solid rock. One of the things I am looking up to God for is my own man, a great man after God’s own heart, a man who will love me, cherish me, provide for our family, protect us… trust me, there is a list. But… I am still single… Oftentimes I think to myself, “Who should I even dress up for? Who do I go out with? Who am I trying to impress? Whose attention am I trying to get?” There is only one answer: God, my first love. He is the authority over me as a single woman and I am His first and foremost.

On Sundays when I am getting ready to got to church I always ask God if He likes what I am wearing; I go to church to meet Him anyway. Anytime I do something, I ask God if what I have done pleased Him. Every single day I aim to be more and more like my first love because He made me and knows me more than I know myself. I have gone on a few dates with Jesus and I have been fulfilled every time!

So, since I don’t have a boo or “bae” (or whatever else kids these days call their significant others) whatever shall I do? I will do what I have been doing since I gave my life to Jesus: chasing after God constantly, no matter what. God is everything to me. He has given me the grace to desire Him more and more. Even before I was born He has promised me in Hosea 2 that He will make me His wife forever! Forever is a long time. I am comforted by the fact that the God of the universe is my husband, my first and foremost, the lover of my life, the owner of my heart, the author and finisher of my faith; He is my everything! God so much loves me that He sent Jesus to die for me– I am worth that much! Like, what?!?! And I know that He has a man for me, the one He has chosen for me, the bone of my bone and flesh of my flesh. I am content.

Until God decides to bring me to my own boo, I belong to Him– and honestly, I always belong to Him. This husband of mine better get ready though; he better act right haha! I’m God’s princess. That is all.

I may be single but I know that God is with me. He is my husband and has promised me everything, from favor to mercy to unfailing love to compassion to peace to joy and so much more! No man on earth can ever give me these things.

Being single may be difficult at times, especially since it seems as if everyone around me is with someone (seriously, people around me are getting married, getting engaged, having babies, etc. I am happy for them but it’s kind of hard when you’re the 9th wheel in your circle of friends) but I know that God is with me and He has the best for me. I ain’t got a boo but I have God. What more can a girl ask for?

Leave a Reply

