Testimony Thursday: The Peace of God

“Send us around the world with the news of your saving power and your eternal plan for all mankind” (Psalm 67:2, TLB).

It is with great excitement that I can say that I will be going to Croatia, by the grace of God, in a few hours! I honestly cannot believe that God has chosen me, of all people, to be part of what He is doing in this world! I am amazed and I am overwhelmed. I thank God for the desire He has given me to go into all the world! The joy that’s in my heart cannot be expressed with words but I thank God for it!

But this is my testimony:

This morning, I woke up earlier than I had expected and it dawned on me that it’s the 30th! I was excited, so excited! As I laid on my bed I started thinking about the fact that I’ll be in another country and I’ll be of help to the people there. But then the devil crept in. I started thinking about the worst things– I am even ashamed to admit these things– I started thinking: what if the plane crashes? What if I die and I don’t return? What if I get to the airport and I’m not able to go? What if the people won’t like me because I am Black? What if I die? What if we all die? What if… this? What if… that? I was sending text messages to my family and friends and something told me, “What if this is your last text message to them? Make it count.” I caught myself and I rebuked those thoughts in the name of Jesus. But fear set in. I became so anxious and disturbed– my body was even feeling weird.

But praise be to God for His love and His peace! I started listening to music– I LOVE music! I love the Gospel; I especially love Christian songs. One song came up on the Hillsong radio I was listening to, “Whom Shall I Fear” by Chris Tomlin. It’s one of my favorite songs. But while listening to it this morning it was as if I was hearing it for the very first time! The bridge says, “I know who goes before me/ I know who stands behind/ The God of angel armies is always by my side/ The one who reigns forever/ He is a friend of mine/ The God of angel armies is always by my side.” The peace and the assurance I felt was so real! I felt good, to say the least. I praise God for that! The bridge of the song says, “Nothing formed against me shall stand/ You hold the whole world in your hands/ I’m holding on to your promises/ You are faithful, You are faithful.” My Father is indeed faithful! When Jesus said, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid” (John 14:27)… I now know what that truly means. Praise God for His peace.

Leave a Reply

