Testimony Thursday

“All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations… And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age” (Matthew 28:18-20, NIV).

Going Across the World, with His Help

By the grace of God, I will be going to Croatia on July 30th, 2015. I am very excited because I get to be part of what God is doing in the world. Honestly, I had never heard of the country until I heard of the opportunity to go there on a service learning trip last year when I was on a discipleship training program in Burlington, VT, with the Navigators, a Christian organization. I was at first discouraged because fundraising was involved; I don’t particularly like fundraising. I dismissed the idea of even going, but God had a different plan.

Earlier this year, in March, I was reminded of the opportunity and I felt a pull in my heart to apply. Application cost $30 and I used pretty much all I had in my account to pay for it. I knew that whether or not I was accepted, the money was gone. I handed everything over to God in faith.┬áLo and behold, I was accepted, along with 19 more people, my team. We had orientation and everything got underway. I had to fundraise about $3000. Honestly speaking, I have never made $3000 in my life. The human in me became skeptical but God reminded me that He was the one who helped me fundraise over $2000 for my discipleship training program last year, and that He will do this one too. I accepted. However, I didn’t start fundraising right away.

Before I knew it May came around and I didn’t have much; deadline was quickly approaching. I started freaking out but God raised help for me. He chose for me a benefactor, a dear friend, who, out of the goodness of her heart, gave me $1,900! I couldn’t believe it! That reaffirmed m hope in my God, that He is with me and that He is in control. Still, however, I was telling God that I needed to raise everything before leaving; I didn’t want to be worrying about the money while in Croatia because I knew I wanted to focus on the mission there. God was reminding me everyday that He will do just that. And He did! God showed up and showed off so much so that I was able to fundraise a little bit more than I needed– glory to God, the extra money will be given to another team member who is in need of more funds!

What I learned through all this is that when God says He is with me, He means it! He was with me when I applied, He was with me when I got accepted, He was with me when I started fundraising; I know that He will always be with me!

Praise God with me!

Please keep our team in your prayers.

Leave a Reply

